One Two Three Agreement

September 30, 2021

One of the unique points of this agreement 123 was the inclusion of fuel guarantees for India. In this agreement, the United States assured India of the supply of fuel in the event of a fuel interruption and negotiated with the IAEA a specific agreement on the supply of fuel to India. This is an important feature of the India-US agreement, as 123 agreements generally do not contain fuel guarantees. [6] Section 123 of the U.S. Atomic Energy Act (AEA) of 1954 sets out the conditions and outlines the process of comprehensive nuclear cooperation between the United States and other countries. For a country to enter into such an agreement with the United States, it must commit to a set of nine non-proliferation criteria. As of January 15, 2019, the United States has concluded 26 nuclear cooperation agreements governing nuclear cooperation with 49 countries, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and Taiwan. Agreement 123 sets out the terms of bilateral civil nuclear cooperation and requires separate authorizations from the U.S. Congress and Indian cabinet ministers. The agreement will also help India meet its goal of adding 25,000 MW of nuclear capacity through the import of nuclear reactors and fuels by 2020.

[27] These requirements are not absolute and can be excluded by the Chair, as already mentioned. In particular, a president may exclude any of these requirements if he or she finds that it would “seriously affect the achievement of U.S. non-proliferation objectives or otherwise compromise common defense and security.” While no president has used this flexibility in any of the agreements currently in force, President George W. Bush was able to circumvent in 2006 the need to present to Congress an agreement excluded because Henry J. The Hyde United States-India Peaceful Atomic Energy Cooperation Act of 2006 expressly allowed it to waive some of the requirements of Section 123 without obtaining congressional authorization, as is normally required. This bipartisan list of senators and members of Congress – including Sens. Rubio and Markey and Congressmen Sherman and Yoho – introduced various bills that would give Congress more oversight and control over the two new agreements and all those to be renewed. The latest of these proposals is the Prevention of Nuclear Proliferation Act of 2019, which is currently under review by the Committee in the House and Senate, preceded by the Saudi Nuclear Non-Proliferation Act of 2019 and the Preventing Nuclear Proliferation in Saudi Arabia Act of 2019. 25 July 2008: IAEA secretariat informs Member States of an India-specific safeguards agreement. . . .